Denouncing the use of civilians as human shields by Hamas and other terrorist organizations in violation of international humanitarian law.

July 16, 2014
December 10, 2014
Agreed to in House

Introduced the day before the IDF initiated a ground invasion of Gaza, this resolution would condemn Hamas and other foreign terrorist organizations operating in Gaza, support Israel’s right to self-defense, express condolences to the families of innocent victims ‘on both sides of the conflict,’ support Palestinian civilians who reject Hamas, and condemn the UNHRC for establishing a ‘biased’ commission to investigate Israel’s conduct in Gaza.

Furthermore, it would cite the ‘extraordinary lengths’ to which the IDF went to target only ‘terrorist actors’ in Gaza, and its use of leaflets, announcements, and phone calls to homes in areas where Israeli air strikes were imminent.

On 12/4, the Senate Foreign Relations Comm. approved the resolution, after removing a clause that would have condemned Hamas for repeatedly refusing to accept a cease-fire. The Senate and the House proceeded to pass the amended text on 12/9 and 12/10 respectively.

AIPAC strongly supported this measure.

102 cosponsors (64R, 38D).

See also: S. Con. Res. 41 of 7/24/14.

Last major action: 12/10/14 Senate amendments agreed to in the House by voice vote. 12/9/14 Passed in the Senate by unanimous consent. 7/30/14 Original version passed in the House by voice vote.)


Spencer Bachus(R-AL)Louis Barletta(R-PA)Ami Bera(D-CA)Gus Bilirakis(R-FL)Corrine Brown(D-FL)Shelly Moore Capito(R-WV)Kathy Castor(D-FL)Steve Chabot(R-OH)David Cicilline(D-RI)Curt Clawson(R-FL)Doug Collins(R-GA)Mike Conaway(R-TX)Gerry Connolly(D-VA)Paul Cook(R-CA)Tom Cotton(R-AR)Ander Crenshaw(R-FL)Ron DeSantis(R-FL)Rosa Delauro(D-CT)Ted Deutch(D-FL)Mario Diaz-Balart(R-FL)Sean Duffy(R-WI)Eliot Engel(D-)Steven Fincher(R-TN)Michael Fitzpatrick(R-PA)Bill Flores(R-TX)Virginia Foxx(R-NC)Lois Frankel(D-FL)Trent Franks(R-AZ)Tulsi Gabbard(D-HI)Cory Gardner(R-CO)Bob Gibbs(R-OH)Louis Jr. Gohmert(R-TX)Paul Gosar(R-AZ)Alan Grayson(D-FL)Tim Griffin(R-AR)Ralph Hall(R-TX)Andy Harris(R-MD)Alcee Hastings(D-FL)Brian Higgins(D-)Duncan Hunter(D-CA)Steve Israel(D-)Bill Johnson(R-OH)David Joyce(R-OH)Joseph Kennedy III(D-MA)Derek Kilmer(D-WA)Pete King(R-)John Kline(R-MN)Ann M. Kuster(D-NH)Douglas Lamborn(R-CO)Leonard Lance(R-NJ)Jim Langevin(D-RI)James Lankford(R-OK)Alan Lowenthal(D-CA)Nita Lowey(D-)Blaine Luetkemeyer(R-MO)Tom Marino(R-PA)Carolyn McCarthy(D-)Patrick McHenry(R-NC)David McKinley(R-WV)Cathy McMorris Rodgers(R-WA)Mark Meadows(R-NC)John Mica(R-FL)Patrick Murphy(D-PA)Jerrold Nadler(D-NY)Richard Neal(D-MA)Kristi Noem(R-SD)Pete Olson(R-TX)Erik Paulsen(R-MN)Steve Pearce(R-NM)Scott Perry(R-PA)Collin Peterson(D-MN)Ted Poe(R-TX)Jared Polis(D-CO)Tom Price(R-GA)Dave Reichert(R-WA)David "Phil" Roe(R-TN)Todd Rokita(R-IN)Peter Roskam(R-IL)Ed Royce(R-CA)Matt Salmon(R-AZ)Jan Schakowsky(D-IL)Brad Schneider(D-IL)Allyson Schwartz(D-PA)David Schweikert(R-AZ)David Scott(D-GA)Brad Sherman(D-CA)Mike Simpson(R-ID)Kyrsten Sinema(D-AZ)Albio Sires(D-NJ)Steve Stivers(R-OH)Steve Stockman(R-TX)Eric Swalwell(D-CA)Lee Terry(R-NE)Juan Vargas(D-CA)Ann Wagner(R-MO)Jackie Walorski(R-IN)Debbie Wasserman-Shultz(D-FL)Henry Waxman(D-CA)Randy K. Weber(R-TX)Frederica Wilson(D-FL)Frank Wolf(R-VA)Todd Young(R-IN)

More info

For more information, Click Here to visit this measure’s page at

Legislation Topics