New Direction for Energy Independence, National Security, and Consumer Protection Act

August 2, 2007
September 19, 2007
Referred to House (sub)committee

91 cosponsors

A bill that deals with U.S. energy policy reforms.
Contains the U.S.-Israel Energy Cooperation Act in Pt. 2 (same as S. 838 on 3/12/2007). “A bill to authorize funding for eligible joint ventures between United States and Israeli businesses and academic persons, to establish the International Energy Advisory Board, and for other purposes.” Establishes an International Energy Advisory (IEA) Board in the Dept. of Energy comprised of two appointees of the Sec. of Energy, two Israeli citizens appointed by the Sec. of Energy after consultation with the Israeli government, and one appointee of the Sec. of Commerce. The IEA board sets criteria for grants and the amount of awards to be given in consultation with the Israel-United States Binational Industrial Research and Development Foundation and the United States-Israel Binational Science Foundation. Board members are compensated in travel expenses and given per diem but no salary. Eligible projects must “encourage cooperation between the United States and Israel on research, development, or commercialization of alternative energy, improved energy efficiency, or renewable energy sources.” They are to be carried out through the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy in the Dept. of Energy. Eligible for application are “a joint venture comprised of both Israeli and United States private business entities or a joint venture comprised of both Israeli academic persons (who reside and work in Israel) and United States academic persons.” The Congressional Budget Office estimates that implementing the bill will require $4m in 2008 and $35m from 2008-2012. Included in that amount is the board budget estimated at $1m annually. However, the CBO estimates that direct spending and revenues would not surpass $500,000 in any year.

NOTE: Omnibus energy legislation was enacted in H.R.6, which became Public Law 110-140 on 12/19/2007.

See also: similar measures H.R. 6 on 1/12/07; related measures H.R. 1838 on 3/29/07 and H.R. 2229 on 5/9/07.

Passed in House 11/14/07 407-13.


Gary Ackerman(D-)Tom Allen(D-ME)Robert Andrews(D-NJ)Brian Baird(D-WA)Tammy Baldwin(D-WI)Xavier Becerra(D-CA)Shelly Berkley(D-NV)Howard Berman(D-CA)Timothy Bishop(D-)Earl Blumenauer(D-OR)Madeleine Bordallo(D-)Leonard Boswell(D-IA)Rick Boucher(D-VA)Corrine Brown(D-FL)Lois Capps(D-CA)Russ Carnahan(D-MO)Julia Carson(D-IN)Ben Chandler(D-KY)Donna Christian-Green(D-VI)Yvette Clarke(D-)William Clay Jr(D-MO)James Clyburn(D-SC)Joseph Crowley(D-)Danny Davis(D-IL)Diana DeGette(D-CO)Bill Delahunt(D-MA)Rosa Delauro(D-CT)Norm Dicks(D-WA)John Dingell(D-MI)Rahm Emanuel(D-IL)Eliot Engel(D-)Anna Eshoo(D-CA)Sam Farr(D-CA)Chaka Fattah(D-PA)Bob Filner(D-CA)Barney Frank(D-MA)Bart Gordon(D-TN)Raul Grijalva(D-AZ)Jane Harman(D-CA)Stephanie Herseth Sandlin(D-SD)Brian Higgins(D-)Paul Hodes(D-NH)Rush Holt(D-NJ)Mike Honda(D-CA)Darlene Hooley(D-OR)Steny Hoyer(D-MD)Jay Inslee(D-WA)Steve Israel(D-)Sheila Jackson-Lee(D-TX)Marcy Kaptur(D-OH)Patrick Kennedy(D-RI)Dale Kildee(D-MI)Carolyn Kilpatrick(D-MI)Jim Langevin(D-RI)Tom Lantos(D-CA)John Larson(D-CT)Barbara Lee(D-CA)Bill Lipinski(D-IL)Zoe Lofgren(D-CA)Nita Lowey(D-)Carolyn Maloney(D-)Edward Markey(D-MA)Doris Matsui(D-CA)Carolyn McCarthy(D-)Betty McCollum(D-MN)Jim McDermott(D-WA)James McGovern(D-MA)Jerry McNerney(D-CA)Carrie Meek(D-FL)George Miller(D-CA)Gwen Moore(D-WI)Jim Moran(D-VA)Chris Murphy(D-CT)Jerrold Nadler(D-NY)Grace Napolitano(D-CA)Eleanor Holmes Norton(D-DC)James Oberstar(D-MN)Frank Pallone Jr(D-NJ)Bill Pascrell Jr(D-NJ)Ed Pastor(D-AZ)Collin Peterson(D-MN)Nick Rahall(D-WV)Charles Rangel(D-)Jan Schakowsky(D-IL)Adam Schiff(D-CA)Brad Sherman(D-CA)Hilda Solis(D-CA)Mark Udall(D-CO)Chris Van Hollen(D-MD)Nydia Velazquez(D-)Henry Waxman(D-CA)

More info

For more information, Click Here to visit this measure’s page at

Legislation Topics