Middle East Peace Commitments Act of 2001

May 10, 2001
July 11, 2001
Referred to House (sub)committee

157 cosponsors

“To require the imposition of sanctions with respect to the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO) or the Palestinian Authority if the President determines that these entities have not complied with certain commitments made by the entities, and for other purposes.” The commitments referred to are an exchange of letters between the PLO and the PM of Israel in 1993 (whereby the PLO would renounce terrorism, recognize Israel, and enter negotiations), Declaration of Principles on Interim Self-Government Arrangements of 1993, the Israeli-Palestinian Interim Agreement on the West Bank and the Gaza Strip of 1995, and the Wye River Memorandum of 1998. The sanctions proposed in this legislation are: 1) denial of visas to PLO/PA personnel; 2) downgrade the PLO mission office in DC to an information office only, as existed prior to the Oslo Accords; 3) designation of the PLO or members of that body (Fatah, Tanzim, Force 17 are listed) as terrorists organizations; and 4) prohibition on U.S. assistance to the WB and Gaza except for humanitarian assistance. The sanctions are to last for approximately six months. Finally, a presidential waiver for such sanctions is granted.

See also: companion measure S. 1409 on 9/6/01; similar measure S. 1401 on 9/4/01; related measure H.R. 1087 on 3/15/01.


Robert Aderholt(R-AL)Robert Andrews(D-NJ)Joe Baca(D-CA)Spencer Bachus(R-AL)Brian Baird(D-WA)Ken Bentsen(D-TX)Shelly Berkley(D-NV)Howard Berman(D-CA)Rod Blagojevich(D-IL)Roy Blunt(R-MO)Henry Bonilla(R-TX)Corrine Brown(D-FL)Henry Brown(R-SC)Sherrod Brown(D-OH)Dan Burton(R-IN)Dave Camp(R-MI)Eric Cantor(R-VA)Ben Cardin(D-MD)Brad Carson(D-OK)Bob Clement(D-TN)Howard Coble(R-NC)Mac Collins(R-GA)Jerry Costello(D-IL)Bud Cramer(D-AL)Joseph Crowley(D-)Jim Davis(D-FL)Susan Davis(D-CA)Rosa Delauro(D-CT)Peter Deutsch(D-FL)Lincoln Diaz-Balart(R-FL)John Doolittle(R-CA)Mike Doyle(D-PA)Chet Edwards(D-TX)Vernon Ehlers(R-MI)Eliot Engel(D-)Phil English(R-PA)Lane Evans(D-IL)Eni Faleomavaega(D-AS)Mike Ferguson(R-NJ)Bob Filner(D-CA)Jeff Flake(R-AZ)Ernie Fletcher(R-KY)Mark Foley(R-FL)Randy Forbes(R-VA)Barney Frank(D-MA)Martin Frost(D-TX)George Gekas(R-PA)Jim Gibbons(R-NV)Benjamin Gilman(R-)Bart Gordon(D-TN)Sam Graves(R -MO)Felix Grucci(R-)Luis Gutierrez(D-IL)Jane Harman(D-CA)Melissa Hart(R-PA)Alcee Hastings(D-FL)J D Hayworth(R-AZ)Van Hilleary(R-TN)Joseph Hoeffel(D-PA)Rush Holt(D-NJ)Mike Honda(D-CA)Steny Hoyer(D-MD)Steve Israel(D-)Timothy Johnson(R-IL)Sue Kelly(R-)Mark Kennedy(R-MN)Patrick Kennedy(D-RI)Jack Kingston(R-GA)Mark Kirk(R-IL)Joe Knollenberg(R-MI)Nick Lampson(D-TX)Tom Lantos(D-CA)Rick Larsen(D-WA)John Larson(D-CT)Steven Latourette(R-OH)Sander Levin(D-MI)John Lewis(D-GA)John Linder(R-GA)Bill Lipinski(D-IL)Frank Lobiondo(R-NJ)Nita Lowey(D-)Ken Lucas(D-KY)Carolyn Maloney(D-)Jim Maloney(D-CT)Don Manzullo(R-IL)Robert Matsui(D-CA)Carolyn McCarthy(D-)Karen McCarthy(D-MO)Betty McCollum(D-MN)Scott McInnis(R-CO)Michael McNulty(D-)Carrie Meek(D-FL)Dennis Moore(D-KS)Connie Morella(R-MD)Jerrold Nadler(D-NY)Anne Northup(R-KY)Charles Norwood(R-GA)Jim Nussle(R -IA)Doug Ose(R-CA)C L Otter(R-ID)Major Owens(D-)Frank Pallone Jr(D-NJ)Mike Pence(R-IN)John Peterson(R-PA)David Phelps(D-IL)Charles Jr Pickering(R-MS)Joe Pitts(R-PA)Todd Platts(R-PA)Deborah Pryce(R-OH)Adam Putnam(R-FL)Jack Quinn(R-)Jim Ramstad(R -MN)Tom Reynolds(R-)Ileana Ros-Lehtinen(R-FL)Mike Ross(D-AR)Steve Rothman(D-NJ)Max Sandlin(D-TX)Jim Saxton(R-NJ)Jan Schakowsky(D-IL)Adam Schiff(D-CA)Ed Schrock(R-VA)Pete Sessions(R-TX)John Shadegg(R-AZ)Clay Shaw Jr(R-FL)Christopher Shays(R-CT)Brad Sherman(D-CA)John Shimkus(R-IL)Ronnie Shows(D-MS)Bill Shuster(R-PA)Mike Simpson(R-ID)Ike Skelton(D-MO)Adam Smith(D-WA)Chris Smith(R-NJ)Mark Souder(R-IN)Ted Strickland(D-OH)Bob Stump(R-AZ)Bart Stupak(D-MI)John Sullivan(R-OK)John Sweeney(R-)Tom Tancredo(R-CO)Lee Terry(R-NE)Mike Thompson(D-CA)Patrick Tiberi(R-OH)Jim Turner(D-TX)Mark Udall(D-CO)Fred Upton(R-MI)David Vitter(R-LA)Zach Wamp(R-TN)Diane Watson(D-CA)J C Jr Watts(R-OK)Henry Waxman(D-CA)Anthony Weiner(D-)Jerry Weller(R-IL)Robert Wexler(D-FL)Roger Wicker(R-MS)Lynn Woolsey(D-CA)Albert Wynn(D-MD)

More info

For more information, Click Here to visit this measure’s page at congress.gov.